Sew Your Own Wardrobe!!

With much trepidation, I purchased the new Great British Sewing Bee book a couple weeks ago. Finally, it popped through my door. We’ve had a little trouble with the Royal Mail this neck of the woods, and much apologies to all of my customers who have been affected. A little heavier than expected, I unwrapped it and was immensely surprised when I saw the Book and HUGE Pattern Pack!

I knew the Book came with Patterns however; I wasn’t prepared for how many, how usable they are, and how many I want to make up, like, right now!!

beebook1   beebook2

For some reason I had read ‘5 Pattern Sheets’ as 5 Patterns however; the Book actually comes with Patterns for all of the designs in the Book. These include Leggings, a Waistcoat and Mens Shirt Pattern- just some of the Patterns for Men!- Tops, Skirts, Dresses and even a Coat. There are a couple projects to do based around Up-Cycling and Patternless sewing and loads of tips. It’s a real bargain to be honest.

I have a couple of favourites already, which I’d like to start stitching up as soon as possible. I love this Bowling Shirt and 1930s Blouse, and I even have fabric in my stash so there is really no excuse! I am tracing both out for use at Sewing Club, as they’re both excellent Beginner and Intermediate Sewing makes.

beebook4 beebook5

I may even go crazy, and make that 1930s Blouse in to a dress! Watch out for my posts about making these up, as I am going to have to make many, many adjustments to make them fit. As I measure it I’ll have to add in 6″ to the length of the body alone! Eep!! The Bowling Shirt will definitely have to have some darts or shaping added in for me above the bust as well and I’ll post on how to do this as I make them up.

So, what are you waiting for? Grab your copy here… happy stitching!

5 thoughts on “Sew Your Own Wardrobe!!

  1. Glad to see you like the book! I’m always a bit hesitant about books like this as I tend to find the patterns too simple, I’ll keep an eye on your blog for the dress you have planned!

    • I am hesitant to, very hesitant! For exactly the same reasons, why buy if I can pattern cut my own, right? But a lot of my students were talking about it and I found the book for half off and have been seriously pleased. Some of my students are using the patterns from it already so I’ll be sure and blog about all of the results!! xxx

  2. Pingback: This week… | Bristol Sewing Club

Leave a Reply

