Christmas Presents: Pot Pinchers & Oven Gloves!

How is this for a useful gift? As I have said before I really like to make Christmas Gifts for everyone each year however; I also like to make them useful which can sometimes be a challenge!

A couple years ago I discovered that Thermal Wadding is on the market- for a very reasonable price- which meant that that year I made everyone Pot Pinchers. These fabulous items are like mini Oven Gloves but they can also be laid flat on any work surface and used a Pot Stand to protect the surface from hot trays and dishes! How cool?

I was going to write up a whole Tutorial for how I did mine however; upon looking I have found the below Tutorials from various Blogs across the ether which show just how diverse this gift can be. They also illustrate some nifty techniques- like the Quilting. You honestly don’t need to spend much on the component parts either so this is the ideal Hand Made gift- thrifty, interesting, useful and pretty! Voila!

pot5

pot1 pot4

Click on the pictures above to be taken to the Tutorials. The first in courtesy of Adrianne from On the Windy Side. I just love her fabric choice! The Tutorial comes with a free PDF Pattern, and uses Fat Quarters. There are also some super tips on Quilting and preparing for Quilting which made this a very interesting read. If you have been wanting to get in to Machine Quilting this would be an ideal project to get a feel for it.

That darling little Heart Pot Pincher comes from Sew We Quilt. This is a great, straight forward Tutorial to make something pretty, and even comes with a free Patterns and Machine Embroidery template! I adore these little things, they use up larger pieces of scrap material very well, don’t take too much time to make up and look so cheerful in the Kitchen! As you can see you can lay them flat as illustrated, or us the pockets to ‘pinch’ and take things out of the Oven. These make up relatively small so you can skip the Quilting if you would like a simple make.

The last Tutorial comes from Skip to my Lou, and makes up this pretty swish Oven Glove! In this Tutorial, you Quilt the fabric, then cut the Pattern out which is a lovely, simple way of making up and the cuff is a nice finishing touch.

Don’t forget to check out my Bias Binding Tutorial! It takes you through all the steps to create your own Bias Binding to match, or contrast beautifully with makes like these!

Why not make a couple up this Christmas for that difficult to buy for relative, they even make excellent Gifts for Men! Wrapped up with a new Pie Plate, Casserole Dish or even some beautiful utilitarian wooden spoons (maybe decorated like this?!), they also make a pretty amazing Hand Made statement. For the ten or so sets I made my Family I chose to use Fat Quarters I had stashed, with a little add in here and there for the linings. For mine, I literally wasn’t allowed to go buy any fabric because they were the ‘samples’… … I had to patch together Bias Binding which I now think adds to the charm! I Quilted a different pattern on each side- for the Mustache fabric I only Quilted on the pocket side and whilst this looks fine I think I would always Quilt both sides in the future as I think it makes them a little more durable. I also used a little Costuming technique for the Bias Binding! I first sewed it on plain, then used a fancy stitch to set in place! I do this all the time now for Bunting and I really think it adds a little something, especially when done in a contrast colour.

pot9pot8

pot6pot7

Easy! As ever, I would love to hear if you have made any of the Tutorial I have posted for Christmas Month! Share here, on the Christmas Month page or on Facebook!

My Christmas Pop Up Sewing Emporium is in full swing and is happening on the 14th December!! I’m so excited!! Click here for all of the details, and do join us if you can! Watch out for more exciting Present makes all week.

Happy stitching!

One thought on “Christmas Presents: Pot Pinchers & Oven Gloves!

  1. Pingback: Christmas Month!! | Laura After Midnight

Leave a Reply

