Tuesday Treats: Christmas Scones with Orange Cream

Firstly, I must apologise for not having any of my own photographs of these makes yet! I simply haven’t had the time, and as I tend to get a little overexcited about Christmas anyway I thought I would save myself and wait until December to start baking up Christmassy goodies!!

I am sharing these, along with my own thoughts, from the original Websites and Books I have gotten them from over the years. This weeks Tuesday Treat is a doozy, and a new one in my repertoire! A few years ago I started teaching at Cordial & Grace, Bristol’s 1st Sewing Cafe and the then chef at the time, Belle, whipped up a batch of Christmas Scones with Orange Cream and I was in love! They’re so delicious!!

christmasscones christmasscones 2

I found the following Recipe at The Weekend Bakery, and have just changed it slightly to suit!

You will need:

230 g Self Raising flour

75 g Cold Butter

50 g Sugar

1 Egg (of a happy chicken!)

30 – 40 ml /2-3 tbsps Milk

2 tsps Mixed Spices (see below, or use a pre-mix Jar)

Dried Cranberries

Pinch of Salt

Brown Sugar

Large, beautiful Christmas Orange

Clotted Cream

Preheat the oven to 210ºC / 410ºF / Gas Mark 6.

Sift the flour and salt in a bowl, together with the spices and rub the butter into the mixture until you have a fine breadcrumb consistency- cooler hands will do the trick better than warm which is perfect for Christmas!!

Mix in the sugar. Beat the egg with the milk and add this to the dry mixture together with the cranberries and mix together with a metal spoon until the wetness is absorbed but don’t mix for too long. It needs to be quite light and fluffy.  Mix the last bits of flour in with your hands and roughly knead together to bind if necessary. If the dough feels a bit dry, add a little bit more milk.

Roll out the dough into a circle about 2.5 cm/ 1 inch thick. Cut out the scones with a cutter into your desired shape- Stars, Hearts or, as I prefer, Mini Circles! and place on a baking tray. Brush with a little milk and sprinkle Brown Sugar on top.

Bake in the oven for about 15 minutes. They have to be well risen and light brown, and should ‘split’ in the middle. Leave them to cool on a wire rack.

When they are cool, Grate the Zest of the Orange in to the Clotted Cream and spread lavishly on top! Serve and enjoy.

To make your own Christmas Spice Mix, The Weekend Bakery have a wonderful Recipe here which I shall hopefully be trying out this year. I am very intrigued by the addition of White Pepper! I promise, Home Made Spices or no, these are truly delicious and very much suit being made in to Mini Scones as they can be quite rich! The Zest on top of the Clotted Cream just looks so supremely Festive it makes me happy!

So, whether you are stitching up a batch of Pretty Jewel Birds, some Vintage Christmas Tree Lights or a Doe Eyed Deer or two, whip yourself up a Tuesday Treat to munch as you sew!

Happy stitching!

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Treats: Christmas Scones with Orange Cream

  1. Pingback: Welcome to the world Baby Boy! | Laura After Midnight

  2. Pingback: Christmas Month!! | Laura After Midnight

Leave a Reply

