Tuesday Treats: Florentines!

Welcome to Tuesday Treats! I’m going to be sharing my favourite Christmas Recipes with you, and my first is a doozy!

I love Florentines, I love them! I love that they are crunchy and soft all at once, I love the snap of Fresh Ginger you get and I love the contrast of Dark Chocolate which somehow makes them savoury, then White Chocolate which is almost impossibly sweet!

Fresh Ginger is the key, I promise. I had no idea until my Mum and I discovered this amazing Deli in Winchester selling them. We were addicted but couldn’t understand why! Finally we decided it was the Fresh Ginger, whipped up a batch ourselves and it was!!

The following Recipe is from Delia Smith, and I don’t fuss much with it! I do swap out the Angelica for Fresh chopped Ginger- because who can find Angelica?!- and I decorate half of the Florentines with White Chocolate and half with Dark. If you want to be extra decadent you can use Green & Black Maya Gold… yum! Click here to see the original recipe and enjoy… …

florentines

You will need (for the Laura version anyway!):

5oz/150g Dark Chocolate and the same in White Chocolate

1oz/25g Butter, plus a little extra for greasing

3oz/75g Caster Sugar

1/2oz/10g Plain Flour, plus a little extra for dusting

21/2fl oz/65ml Double Cream

4oz/100g Flaked Almonds (No Delia, I still wont cut my own up!!)

1oz/25g Natural, Un-Dyed Glacé Cherries

Large Knob of Fresh Ginger, peeled and finely chopped

Pre-heat your oven to Gas 5, 375F or 190C

You will also need two large, flat Baking Sheets

Melt 1oz/25g Butter, together with the sugar and flour, in a small, heavy-based saucepan over a very low heat, and keep stirring until the mixture has melted. Gradually add the cream, stirring continuously to keep it smooth.

Add  the remaining ingredients, except the chocolate. Stir thoroughly again, then remove the saucepan from the heat and put the mixture on one side to cool. Next, brush the baking sheets with a little melted butter, lightly dust with flour and then tap them to get rid of the excess flour (this works I promise!).

You’ll find it easier to bake one sheet of the Florentines at a time. Place heaped teaspoonfuls of the mixture on to one of the prepared baking sheets, spacing them about an inch (2.5 cm) apart (to allow the mixture room to expand while baking, and it hella expands!). Flatten each spoonful with the back of the spoon, then bake on a high shelf for about 12-15 minutes, or until golden.

Take them out of the oven and leave the biscuits to harden on the baking sheets for 2-3 minutes, before quickly removing them to a wire rack to cool. I use a Spatula to neaten the edges of the Florentines at this point as they will have spread unevenly, and I can make them round again whilst thickening up the edges to make spreading the Chocolate on a bit easier. I also allow to cool on a flat surface because they can be a little floppy! Repeat with any further batches.

Melt the chocolate in a basin over a saucepan of barely simmering water, making sure the base of the bowl doesn’t touch the water. I work with one Chocolate, then the other so as to save space in my teeny kitchen.

Place the cooled Florentines, base up, on a wire rack and, using a teaspoon, coat the underside of each Florentine with warm melted chocolate. Then, just before it sets, make a patterned, wavy line on each one, using a fork. Now leave the Florentines to cool completely before eating, packing up as a gift or just proudly looking at!

Remember to pop back for more posts throughout November, and Christmas Month!

Happy Christmas!

4 thoughts on “Tuesday Treats: Florentines!

  1. Pingback: Doe Eyed Deer Christmas Decoration | Laura After Midnight

  2. Pingback: Tuesday Treats: Christmas Scones with Orange Cream | Laura After Midnight

Leave a Reply

