Notions: The Order of Sewing

As we have started to develop our Final Working Pattern, it is important to start thinking about the Order of Sewing.  I find it helps me work out what Pattern pieces are required, I am forever forgetting Facings, and Seam Finishings for some reason, but when I start to think about making the final garment up I remember all the small details which are needed.

The following is an Order of Sewing from the McCall’s Sewing in Colour book. The whole book is a gem and has some exceptionally helpful advice about preparation, and the stages which need to be mastered before you start to sew and make the garment up.

Click on the images to enlarge- the pictures really are quite charming!- and have a read.

order of sewing 1

order of sewing 2

As we near the end of Pattern Month, I am in reflective mood! From the wonderful comments and conversations I have had with so many of you, to the inspiring advice handed out via my Pattern Making Musings series and the many new cyber-friends I have made because of my obsession I am sad it is coming to en end however; I am enormously happy and proud to have carried this off!

Please don’t forget to check out past Pattern Making Musings from IN-HOUSE Patterns, Colette and this weeks from Sinbad & Sailor. Remember to comment on this weeks to win a great Sinbad & Sailor Pattern- they’re super fun so check them out!! To find out what all this is about, and see a breakdown of all the posts so far, click here.

From Basic Blocks, to Toiles and Working Patterns this has been quite the month!

Happy Patterning!

2 thoughts on “Notions: The Order of Sewing

  1. Pingback: Pattern Making Musings: Madalynne | Laura After Midnight

  2. Pingback: Pattern Month!! | Laura After Midnight

Leave a Reply

