50s Couture Summer Dress Pattern

My Sewing Group and I are going to start making up Tap Pants, or Petti-Pants this evening, so I have just been searching online for free patterns- there are so many out there! (I would recommend proceeding with a search only if you have some pattern knowledge as many of them need re-sizing or adjusting however they are limitless)- and having a nose about trying to see if I could find a slightly nicer pattern than the one I drafted (I did, it’s here courtesy of veravenus.com), only I also stumbled across this list of free PDF Patterns from Dresses to Tap Pants with Sewing Tutorials, Knitting Patterns and other interesting Vintage Sewing bits and bobs too! Burda also have a lovely looking Vintage Style Lingerie Set free PDF here, for slightly fuller Cami and Tap Pants click here for a Free Graded Pattern and Tutorial.

However; the Free Pattern which really caught my eye was a listing for a 50’s Couture Dress and I eagerly clicked the link- Vintage Patterns are expensive and I only have so much time in which to draft my own so I clicked the lick speedily and this is what I found:

vanda

Create a Couture Inspired Dress

This dress pattern has been specially created for the Golden Age of Couture website. It is based on a 1950s ready to wear dress from the V&A collection and has been sized for modern day UK sizes 10, 12 and 14.

You can download a PDF to print at home- or there’s a separate one so you can take to the printers if you prefer (but remember to tell them to print at 100%!!). I think it is rather sweet, if you follow the link- click the picture above- you can also upload a video of your finished dress along with others!

I also came across this from Threads Magazine which shows the simplest way to adjust patterns like these- Cut and Spread pattern Grading.  If you would like to buy cost effective, Vintage Patterns I hasten you to Mrs Depew of Etsy… in just a few clicks you will be hooked as she has everything!! All graded for the modern form and instantly downloadable… heaven!

So, my printer has just chucked out the Tap Pants Patterns- 30 pages in total! so I’m off the get closely acquainted with my tape dispenser! Let me know if you have found any great Free Patterns out there, and don’t forget to check out my Free Pattern- the Simple A-Line Skirt!

Happy stitching!

Leave a Reply

