Notions

For this Thursdays episode of the ‘Notions’ series I thought I’d talk a little about one of the Tutorials I have come across in the last week. This will start an occasional ‘Series within a Series’ as I’d like to start sharing some of the sewing discoveries I have made. Not only does this spread the blogging love, it’ll give you all an insight into the different Blogs I follow, and the magnitude of advice I encounter on a daily basis!

These often support the techniques I am teaching, writing and posting about myself.

First up, this wonderful Tutorial from Colette on adapting a pattern to add in Tucks. This is a technique covered in my forthcoming Zine Darts, Tucks, Pleats and Gathers so this will be handy if you, like me, love this type of one off bespoke detailing…

 

Above is the Violet Pattern by Colette, which is available to buy here.

I am intending to use this detailing as a way to shape the Shirt after I have made it. The pattern is a little too large and I intend to place three or more tucks at the Centre Front to reduce the Shirts size to fit. I also think I shall have to place a couple darts at the waist to I may ‘fan’ the Tucks into the Darts, but that is a whole other story!

Above left is the original pattern, and on the right is the adapted pattern with Tucks.

For the tutorial you need:

Violet pattern and necessary supplies (fabric etc), Ruler, Pen, Two colours of Chalk Pencil, Tape and Thread.

Click on the above image for the Tutorial which, if a little pink for my tastes, is simple and easy to follow but will produce a unique garment.

If you haven’t already, do sign up for their weekly ‘Snippets’ emails which I am very much enjoying.

Happy stitching!

Leave a Reply

