My first Zine…

… in the ‘Notions’ series!

Here’s the challenge:

I want to create and make a new Zine every week for the next ten weeks. 

photo of zine

Understanding Vintage and Modern Patterns: a handy little Zine to assist the aspiring Home Seamstress. Available soon from Laura After Midnight on Etsy

That’s it. No additional caveats, or descriptions. Just ten Zines over ten weeks. Because you know what? That’s enough! The first is entitled ‘Understanding Vintage and Modern Patterns’ and took me a full day to source, write, illustrate and lay out! As it was the most fun I have had in weeks I decided I wanted to do more, hence the challenge.

What is a Zine?

A zine […]is a self-published, small circulation, non-commercial booklet or magazine, usually produced by one person or a few individuals. Zines come in all shapes, sizes, topics, and formats. Most zines are photocopied, but they can also be printed offset, like a magazine or newspaper. Zines range from handwritten and sloppy to cut-and-paste (text pasted on top of background images) to artsy with handmade touches    produced on a computer with a professional looking layout. Zines may incorporate screenprinting, linoleum cuts, and hand-stitched bindings. Most zines have print runs of a couple dozen to a few hundred copies. In a zine, you might find typos, improper grammar, and brilliant or radical or just plain honest ideas that you don’t normally see in Time, Newsweek, or People. A zine can be about whatever subject its creator decides upon, or it may contain a variety of subjects and writing styles within the same issue. Zines can include personal essays, political discussions, fiction, craft or do-it-yourself advice, articles about music or movies, comics, poetry, reviews – anything under the sun, really. Zines are personal and idiosyncratic.

The best thing about zines is this: There are no rules.

From:  Underground Press

I have been buying Zines through Etsy for a while now, and my favorite are the Crafting ones. One of the first I bought was all about Doilies and the creator had illustrated some Doilies in her collection, then a whole bunch of ideas of what to do with Vintage Doilies! The front was a spray painted stencil of a Doily and the whole thing was photocopied and just lovely to me.

I have felt a little down and directionless recently in my work- what is a trained Costumier doing teaching beginners crafting and sewing?, and why did I just turn down quite a lot of film work?! however; this has really inspired me and I feel a little closer to the designer I can be because of it.

I have decided to make the Laura After Midnight Zines’ an extension of the website and so am using Vintage Books, Patterns and images from my collection to assist me in creating an accessible series all about Sewing! There don’t seem to be all that many Zines out there about Sewing which is why I have started at the very, very beginning: ‘Understanding Vintage and Modern Patterns’ takes you through selecting your Pattern, understanding what all that gobbledegoop on the Pattern Envelope is, what is going on inside the Pattern Envelope, 6 very handy Steps in Understanding Patterns covering choosing the fabric, layouts and cutting diagrams and even pinning and cutting! Also included is a Glossary of terms Pattern companies use, and a cute Measurement Chart to record your measurements in. All wrapped up in 8 pages of loveliness!

pattern zine pages

Inside Understanding Vintage and Modern Patterns.

‘Understanding Vintage and Modern Patterns’ will be available on Etsy soon, as a hard copy and as a PDF (for those of you who can’t wait!). I’m just waiting for the Postman to get here with a few things first to help in the packaging of this little delight, which comes with a little free gift!

Happy stitching!

3 thoughts on “My first Zine…

  1. Pingback: Best Tips, Notions and Tutorials of 2013 | Laura After Midnigh

Leave a Reply

