Mrs. Make do & Mend, that’s me!

mrs sew and sew

Above is an official government cartoon featuring Mrs. Sew and Sew a “woman of resource and ideas” who promoted the “make do and mend” philosophy of the lean World War II years. In Britain, clothes were rationed from 1941-1949. At the beginning of the ration, women were allotted 66 coupons to spend on a year’s wardrobe. Because clothing was limited, sewing and what we’d now call “refashioning” was essential. After all, as the voice over states, “Just think of the coupons you’ll save!”

from Wardrobe Reimagined.  

Click the picture to be taken to the utterly charming cartoon, it is quite my new favorite thing! As I am undergoing a little ‘make do and mend’ moment of my own this week I thought this was very apt. I am making many, many dresses & skirts for myself out of the many fabrics I have stockpiled in a furious attempt not to spend any money so I can save! My current saving goals are:

1. to be able to afford a Workshop for Laura After Midnight. I will need to streamline & expand soon so my top priority is to be able to afford a dedicated space to do this in. As I hope to teach private sewing lessons, & more there I am stupidly excited about this one!

2. to have a lovely time on Holiday at the end of May. Possibly this may just be an excuse so I can buy more fabrics!

3. to buy a new Digital Camera. Mine died a couple years ago & I find I have to process the images my mobile phone takes quite heavily so I have decided to invest in a new one. I think it will also help me to write a little more about my day-to-day sewing adventures too!

4. to book a model &  hair/make-up artist for a days photo shoot… just as soon as I have finished the capsule collection.

The best thing about this list? It’s all exciting! I don’t mind saving for things like this, in fact it’s a pleasure & I can’t wait to start ticking them off.

Happy stitching!

2 thoughts on “Mrs. Make do & Mend, that’s me!

  1. I love the idea of making a capsule collection and then booking a photoshoot. Whatever your goals, you will have much fun making and mending in any case 🙂

    • Thank you! It’s the only way I can do it so I have boiled everything down into three designs and I am making those. It’s a very interesting process as I am used to designing many, many pieces to this is cool!

Leave a Reply

