Victorian Ball Gown Commission.

I have recently been in discussion with a lovely lady about designing & making a Victorian inspired Ball Gown. What a treat!

Amidst a plethora of images and some great inspiration these are the pictures which have really caught my attention.

     

I adore the lace embellishment on the first, & as my client very much likes the Vintage look, I think this is really apt. The second has a great middle section, I love the way the corset, or top, fits over the skirt. I think the over skirt looks quite mean, which leads nicely in to the Simplicity pattern, as I think the shorter bustle skirt would look beautiful over a simple under skirt. The image of Helena Bonham Carter is the best I could fine, & I really want to juxtapose this top with the first & make it in corset form. I adore the jet beading, and snippets of lace peeking from the top and bottom.

Some more images of the Helena Bonham Carter costume, from Sweeny Todd.

Having said that, I need to make the whole idea a little sinpler as budgetry restraints apply- which just makes things more exciting because I have to be very clever in my use of fabric & decoration, & use my imagination quite a lot!

I am going to suggest we overlay net on the fabric of the corset, then sew on floral guipure Lace Applique Motifs, & some beading with Jet effect beads.

At the top and bottom of the corset I’d like to have pleated net & diamond shaped lace peeking out.

At the front I want to have strings of Jet effect beads & a Vintage Brooch, exactly like the Helena Bonham Carter costume.

We have also discussed the possibility of small ‘cap’ sleeves around the top of the arms which I think would look lovely from pleated & matching net, with Jet effect beading & Lace Applique Motifs to finish. I think I may have some wonderful Jet effect beaded fringing squirreled away somewhere for just this sort of occasion which may look nice at the bottom edge of the sleeve.

https://i0.wp.com/www.fabricland.co.uk/betta%20016.jpg

So, with all of this put together, this is my final design! What do you think?
Colour has yet to be decided (which is why it is balck & white for the moment) however; I am loving the idea of purple or lilac with black details. The bustle skirt pulls up at the back, & has a small bustle pad underneath which makes it a wonderfully cost effective option.This also means my client will receive three seperate pieces which can be used separately or together for future events.
I am sure elements will be changed & adapted however; I thought you all would enjoy seeing how I pull a costume/dress together.
Happy stitching!
One thought on “Victorian Ball Gown Commission.

  1. Pingback: Strictly (Victorian) Ballroom! | Laura After Midnight

Leave a Reply

