Steampunk Etsy Treasury

Skeeter Air Pirate Mechanic steampunk costume prop goggles  Custom made bespoke cream coutil steel boned ribbon corset waist cincher underbust corset night corset pin up steampunk made to measure  Freedom of a thousand doves black lace bolero wedding shrug bridal bolero jacket victorian bolero gothic bolero

I’ve just had a go at making my first Etsy ‘Treasury’, & very interesting it was too. In searching for some beautiful items, I really had a good look around the site & found some wonderful items for sale. I tried to find beautiful textures, ideas & products in a pared down, simplified Victoriana & Steampunk style.

Take a look, & let me know what you think.

http://www.etsy.com/treasury/MTc5OTA1NTh8MjY3MTAzMDM1MQ/steampunk-inspired-scrumptiousness

In other news, I had a very successful fitting for the Edwardian dress I have been making for ‘Unsinkable’ at the Little Black Box Theater yesterday. It is yet another example of my excellent budgeting skills. . . well, I had no money so I’ve made it out of all sorts of off cuts & with what money the theater could spare bought some fabric to tie it all together.

It’s all been quick rigged for a quick get in & out, so really the entire outfit is a fake! It looked rather nice though & both myself & the actress agreed would flare nicely against the lights- not normally something you would want!- at the end of the play.

Today I have been cutting out the Edwardian coat to go over the dress. . . from several pairs of old trousers! I used to work as a ‘stitch bitch’ for a couple designers & had some old trousers which were cut out but never made up left over. I have utilized them to the extreme and squeezed the pattern in & around the pre-cut shapes. One cannot turn down free fabric when the budget is this tight!! I plan to sew the coat up tomorrow evening & hopefully load up some photos in the process. I am quietly excited about it to be honest as it has been quite a few years since I have had to work like this. With several films planned this year through Fellas production company it’s a skill I need to keep up!

On that note, I have just had what looks like a very nearly finished script handed to me so I am off to have a read & get excited about my next costuming adventure!

Don’t forget to enter my competition over on my Facebook page. The prize really is worth a couple clicks!!

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Laura-After-Midnight/193372780756243

Happy stitching!

Leave a Reply

