Small but glorious video on hat making!

Below is a link to a short film where you will see one of Stephen Jones’ creations ‘come to life’.

Commissioned by The V&A for the exhibition the ‘millinery workroom or atelier is the creative laboratory where hat designs are transformed from ideas into reality’, & this film really takes what is a very slow, labor intensive & highly skilled craft & turns it into something very beautiful visually.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?NR=1&feature=endscreen&v=psK2UCttYAQ

I see all the techniques I was taught several years ago in a drafty studio in Wimbledon by our Millinery lecturer (who we were all a little awe struck by as he had created beautiful pieces for many feature films including Shakespeare In Love), & which I still employ today in my Mini Top Hats & for the various commissions I get for film & theater.

Like so many of the skills I have learnt millinery is fiddly, slow, hard on the hands & eyes, yet hugely satisfying! It split my class in two- those who could & loved it, & those who loathed it!!

I do hope this inspires, happy stitching!

You can see Laura After Midnight on Etsy here: http://www.etsy.com/shop/lauraaftermidnight?ref=si_shop where I shall soon be selling Mini Top Hat kits, with full instructions & all materials included.

Leave a Reply

