Sewing Hints & Tips #2

To make a hem on a chiffon garment:
  1. Sew a straight stitch about 0.5cm or 1/4″ to 1.5cm or 3/8″ away from the cut edge.
  2. Iron the hem up at the stitched line.  The stitched line will help the iron naturally turn the fabric.
  3. Stitch the turned area down with a straight stitch, just above the previous stitching.  Now you have 2 rows of stitching right next to each other.
  4. Trim off the excess fabric if any.
  5. Repeat Step 2.  Now you have rolled the hem.
  6. Stitch it down with another straight stitch seam.

POSTED BY  ⋅

2 thoughts on “Sewing Hints & Tips #2

  1. I must try this. I have tried in vain to use a 2mm rolled hem foot and I have tried to manually roll and sew in one go. Both ways gave me a headache and involved a lot of blue language! So thank you for sharing this tip!

    • I find that the charm is all in the preparation as well! The minute I step back, make a cup of tea and take my time it all goes together like a dream. (I also do the final line of stitching by hand). Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

